Breaking News

T10 will Modernize the Sport: Watson

The Karachians Icon Player feels this innovation shall grow fan bases for the sport across the globe 

Shane Watson, who will be playing for The Karachians in the second edition of the T10 league, said that the new condensed format of the game would popularize the sport even more and increase the fan base. The T10 League, which recently got recognised by the International Cricket Council (ICC), will be hosted in UAE from the 23rd of November 2018.

Watson was roped in by the team from Karachi as their icon player and will also lead the squad in the second edition of the tournament. On his decision of being part of the league, Watson said, “I had spoken to some of the players who took part in the league last season, and they gave me some really positive feedback about the league. Just like how T20 cricket revolutionized the sport and honed the skills of a player, I think this innovation shall also bring about a positive impact on the sport and grow fan bases across the globe.”  

The second edition of the T10 League has got bigger and better with the likes Darren Sammy, Brendon McCullum, Andre Russell, Rashid Khan, Chris Lynn, Eoin Morgan, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Sunil Narine along with Watson featuring in the event. 

On being asked about the T10 format being incorporated into international calendar Watson said, “There’s already a lot of cricket going on currently so I don’t think the format will immediately make it to the international scheme of things, but having said that I think the T10 concept is very interesting and there’s always a space for introducing a new format to the sport to make it more interesting. Just like how T20 cricket revolutionized the sport globally, I think T10 too will modernize the sport and will definitely be an exciting spectacle for the viewers.”

T10 League is the world’s first 10-over cricket league recognised by the International Cricket Council. The league will have two more additional teams making it a an eight-team league spread over eight days. Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, The Karachians, Rajputs, Northern Warriors and Pakhtoons – have been drawn in to two groups to fight it out in the 2nd Season of T10 League from November 23 to December 2.

No comments